Results of the weigh-in for Charles Oliveira vs. Islam Makhachev at UFC 280

Charles Oliveira was forced to relinquish the UFC lightweight belt the last time he tried to cut weight for a fight. He will try to make weight at UFC 280 in order to win the title once more.

On Oct. 22, Oliveira will compete for the belt inside the Etihad Arena in Abu Dhabi against Islam Makhachev. Aljamain Sterling will face T.J. Dillashaw in the co-main event to defend the UFC bantamweight

championship.

Oliveira made his professional debut in 2008 and signed with the UFC in 2010. He has a promotion and a 21-8 record with one no-contest. He has won his last 11 matches.

“Do Bronx” defeated Michael Chandler to win the UFC lightweight championship at UFC 262, but he failed to make weight to face Justin Gaethje at UFC 274. Oliveira prevailed through submission, however he was unable to claim the title of champion.

Former combat sambo world champion Makhachev made his professional debut in 2010. He debuted in the UFC in 2015. Makhachev has won 10 straight fights; his most recent victory came in February via TKO over Bobby Green.

Will Oliveira be able to compete at this weight? The results of the UFC 280 weigh-in will be published by The Sporting News. Around 11 a.m. ET, the formal weigh-ins should start.

When is UFC 280: Charles Oliveira vs. Islam Makhachev? 

  • Date: Saturday, Oct. 22
  • Prelims: 10 a.m. ET | 3 p.m. BST | 12 a.m. AEST
  • Main card: 2 p.m. ET | 7 p.m. BST | 4 a.m. AEST
  • Main event: 5:15 p.m. ET | 10:15 p.m. BST | 7:15 a.m. AEST (approximate)

UFC 280 takes place on Saturday, Oct. 22. The prelims begin at 10 a.m. ET | 3 p.m. BST | midnight AEST. The UFC 280 main card is set to start at 2 p.m. ET | 7 p.m. BST | 4 a.m. AEST. Oliveira and Makhachev should make their way to the Octagon around 5:15 p.m. ET | 10:15 p.m. BST | 7:15 a.m. AEST, depending on how long the undercard fights last. 

How to watch UFC 280: Charles Oliveira vs. Islam Makhachev

CountryDateChannel + Live Stream (main card)
United StatesSat. Oct 22ESPN+, ESPN PPV
CanadaSat. Oct 22BELL, Rogers, Shaw, SaskTel,  Videotron, Telus, Eastlink, UFC PPV on UFC Fight Pass
United KingdomSat. Oct 22BT Sport
AustraliaSun. Oct. 23Main Event, Kayo Sports, Fetch TV, UFC PPV on UFC Fight Pass

The main card for UFC 280 is available in the U.S. and Mexico on the ESPN+ subscription streaming service for a pay-per-view cost. Earlier fights are viewable live on ESPN+ and ESPN News. 

MORE: How to bet on combat sports

In Canada, the main card pay-per-view is available on BELL, Rogers, Shaw, SaskTel, Videotron, Telus, Eastlink and UFC PPV on UFC Fight Pass

In the United Kingdom, the main card will be available on BT Sport, with the prelims available on UFC Fight Pass. 

In Australia, the main card will be on Main Event, Kayo Sports, Fetch TV, and UFC PPV on UFC Fight Pass.

Charles Oliveira vs. Islam Makhachev PPV price: How much does UFC 280 cost? 

  • $74.99 (current ESPN+ subscribers)
  • $99.98 (new subscribers)

In the U.S., the UFC 280 main card is available via pay-per-view on ESPN+, which also requires a subscription. The PPV price for UFC 280 is $74.99 for current subscribers. New subscribers can pay a bundle price of $99.98 for the UFC 280 pay-per-view and an ESPN+ annual subscription, which offers savings of more than 30 percent.

MORE: Sign up to watch the UFC 280 PPV, exclusively on ESPN+

ProductPrices
ESPN+ Monthly Subscription$9.99/month
ESPN+ Annual Subscription$99.99/year
The Disney Bundle w/Hulu Ad-Supported$13.99/month
The Disney Bundle w/Hulu No-Ads$19.99/month
UFC PPV Standalone$74.99 each
UFC PPV Package (UFC PPV & ESPN+ Annual)$99.98, then $69.99/year
UFC PPV & The Disney Bundle$88.98, then $13.99/month

UFC 280 weigh-in results

Main card

  • Charles Oliveira (154.5) vs. Islam Makhachev (154.5) for the UFC lightweight title
  • Aljamain Sterling (c) (135) vs. T.J. Dillashaw (135)  for the UFC bantamweight title 
  • Petr Yan (136) vs. Sean O’Malley (135.5); bantamweights 
  • Beneil Dariush (156) vs. Mateusz Gamrot (156); lightweights 
  • Katlyn Chookagian (127.5) vs. Manon Fiorot (125.5); catchweight 

Prelims

  • Belal Muhammad (170) vs. Sean Brady (171); welterweights¬†
  • Makhmud Muradov (185.5) vs. Caio Borralho (186); middleweights
  • Nikita Krylov (206) vs. Volkan Oezdemir (206); light heavyweights¬†
  • Abubakar Nurmagomedov (170.5) vs. Gadzhi Omargadzhiev (171); welterweights
  • Armen Petrosyan (186) vs. AJ Dobson (185); middleweights
  • Malcolm Gordon (126) vs. Muhammad Mokaev (126); flyweights
  • Karol Rosa (135) vs. Lina Lansberg (135); bantamweights

Sources: https://www.sportingnews.com/us/mma/news/ufc-280-charles-oliveira-vs-islam-makhachev-weigh-results/a9vyb013b6p2sl6nsicfccgz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.